Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

As businesses has become global, many companies are operating in different countries. With prosperity in business and globalization, the idea of business has shifted from only making money in short term to making money for the long term by growing with the community in which it is operating. Thus it can create a positive impression as well as can remain profitable in the long run. So, although the main goal of business is to make as profit as much as possible, the corporations have a responsiblity toward the wellbeing of the society and environment, as it uses the resorces from it.

All the businesses established in the world uses the resources available in a community or country it is operating within, some of the products a business might produce or deal with may have a adverse effect on the society or environment. The product might be harmful but necessary to some extent, either for medical purpose or even for luxury. For example, we can state the British American Tobacoo company. It is a general consensus that the tobacoo products are harmful for human health as well the the raw matterials used to make those products result in cutting down trees to make paper for the ciggerates. Thus the BATB has taken a social wellfare program to compensate the the harm it is doing to the environment by planting more tree every year that is cut down to make its product. This a kind of payback to the society from the BATB to show its goodwill.

Again, no matter what type of service or product a corporation is providing, they are using the resource that belong to all. One might argue that the corporations are spending their money and own the resources they hare using. But that is not the case always. For exapmle a lot of water is used in the garments industry. After finishing the process the water is released in the wild which then get absorbe in the soil. If the chemicals, which are highly deleterious to the nature and human health are not removed before poring it in the nature it may result in adverse effect. Thus the garments industry which are operating in Bangladesh requires to have an ETP plant for preocessing the chemical water before releasing it in the open even though the cost of operating the ETP is very high. By this way their minimizing their affect on the environment and promotes its wellbeing.

Although, the corporations might feel moral obligations to participate in the social and environmental wellfare program , but the ultimate goal of doing business is making money to some corporations. One can say that, if they are abided by the laws enforced in a coountry, they do not owe anything more. and should use the oppotunity to make as more money as possible. In Bangladesh few companies were forced to shutdoown due to less profitibility due to maintaing the laws enforced to protect the environment due to cost. It might sound logical though, but if we look at the bigger picture, as a part of the community, to sustain the community and maintain its soundness the corporations should not ignore them.

While the purpose of doing business is to make profit, one cannot just ignore the importance of the community a business is operating in. Thus, a corporation should have some responsibility in maintaining the wellbeing of the society and environment while trying to remain profitable as much as possible.