Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In our everyday life we see different brands and products are getting endorsed by the celebrities. When I was a little boy, I bought a bottle of shampoo just because it provided two free radium stickers of my favourite movie star, though my parents prohibited me. That is how powerful the impact of a celebrity emdorsement can be. The statement here is that young people get more influenced by the opinions of celebrities than the older people and I agree with this position.

To begin with, young people are very easy to have impression upon. As they admire the celebrities, they try to follow their lifestyle as closely as possible. Thus, the opinions of the celebrities have far greater impact on them. It is a very common scenario that a product getting adopted by a young person just because his idol uses it. One incident of my firend is a very compelling example for me. One of my friend was an avid fan of a movie star. The movie star, who was a vegan, said in an interview that he uses certain slimming pills to stay in shape. He might have said it for promotional purpose, but my friend become very obessed. So, he became vegan and started taking the slimming pills. It caused a sharp decline in his health and later he was needed to be hospitalized from the combined adverse effect of the diet change and that medicine. He used the medicine without taking any opinion from the doctors just because his idol uses it, which put his life in risk. That is how strong the influence of celebrities can be on the young fledgling minds.

Moreover, the younger people lack in experience which the older people does not. It might sound ironic, but the older people have gone through that young period and understand better about the reality. It is very common that celebrities do and say things to stay in the spotlight. While the experienced older people can identify these ploys very easily, it can very harder for the young minds. For example, one of my friend who was a cyclist, has an athlet as idol who was banned for using performance enhancing drugs. That athlet later said that it was his right to use drugs because to him competitions are like war and winning it anyhow is what matters. This inspired my firend to start performance enhancing drugs. Eventually, he got caught and was banned for life from cycling. Even though he knew the dangers, he couldn't resist the influence of his idol.

So, in light of the discussion above and from the incidents I have seen in my life, I stand by my opinion that the celebrities have more influence over the younger generation than they have on the older people.