Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

We live in a era of comic books where almost every children grows up with the fantasy of being a hero or role model. For some people it can be a character from a fiction, and for some it can be a person from . If we closely observe,we can see that a person is highly influenced by these role models and their morality and actions. Thus by observing the characraters of such heroes and role models one can get a pretty good idea about the standard social values of a community.

During world war two the german people idolized Hitler and his call of supremacy over other race and nations. This ideology was almost accepted by the all of the german people. That was the concurrent situation of that society which is in line with the vison of Hitler. Also if we observe the incident of liberation war in bangladesh , we can see that people was very influenced by the leadership of the Sheik Mujibur Rahman, who was later also declared as the Bengali Person of the century. The ideal he maintained is reflected in the people of the country which resulted in the separation from the Pakistan as a answer to the opression. This leaders and role models are considered as the represtation of the moral value society value.

Also, in the United States during the second world War, many characters played as an influential role. From movie stars to famous player all tried to contributed in their own way by using their fame and sway their follower to the cause. Even in the current era the public influence of such figures are enormous. Because, A misdeed by them can result in a copycat from the follower base.

Although the influence of such role models in the shaping of a society is very pivotal, there are some exceptions to it. Sometimes, specially in a democratic state, one might won the system technically, but might not have the popular opinion. The recent Us election is a very good example of that. As the polls shows, most of the american does not agree on most of the policies and standard maintained by Donald Trump. So, if we actually characterize the who american people on the scale of trumpiness, It will give a false impression of american standard and values.

Everyone has their heroes, their role model, someone to follow while growing up. These role models in turn help to shape the persona and greatly influence the behavior. Although by observing the life and characteristics of the heroes, it is not always the most comprehensive representation of the society. But if we can take them removing the bias, we can get a pretty standard picture of standard and value of the society.