The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a letter to the editor, a store owner of a central plaza argued that the number of shoppers is decreasing bacause of the skateboard users in the plaza and by banning skateboarding, their business will restore to the previous high. But this conclusion is based on a number of faulty assumptions and do not answer few vital questions. Without considering these questions, the desired effect might not be achieved.

Firstly, the store owner assumed that the the decline in shopper is due to the dramatic increase in the popularity of the skateboarding. But that might not be the case at all. Although it might be true that the increase in skatborder in the mall has increased but it is also possible that those skaters are also among the regular shoppers there. Another possibility that the shop owners should consider is that whether a new shopping mall has been built or if any existing one is giving better deals to attract more customers. If that is the case that might explain the decrese in shoppers better. So, more comprehensive reasoning is required before pointing at the skateboarders.

Secondly, it was said by the author that the vandalism and littering has been increased in the plaza and the assumption here is that the skateboarders are the reason for that. But it is possible that the management system for keeping the plaza clean is not funtioning properly, so that regular amount of littering is accumulating and resulting into a increased load. It might also be the case that some other group of people are doing the vandalism. Just because skateboarding has become more popular, we cannot reason that they have become less civil. That would be stereotyping. A better monitoring system can solve the issue.

Furthermore, the author is predicting their success solely based on the banning of the skateboarders. As mentioned earlier, there might have other players in the fields who are giving better offers and variety to the customers. If that is the case, banning skateboarders may not have any effect whatsoever. Plus, it is possible that other plazas in the area have embraced the trend and made seperate path in the walkway for the skaters. This can actually increase the potential number of buyers. If the skaters feels safe skating in the plaza, they might go to the plaza more readily than to go somewhere else. So, if banned, it is possible that the plaza might lose a portion of their regular customer who have taken up skating along with a number of potential buyers.

Thus, it is not possible to guarantee the prediction of returing the old glory of high level of business can be reached by only prohibiting the skateboarding in the mall. Moreover it can result in adverse effect. Furthermore scrutiny is required of the other factors in play before making this decision.