Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them

Computer has bacome a part and parcel of our life now-a-days. From doing complex mathematics to being a source of entertainment, computer is used everywhere. Here, the statement posits that playing computer games is a waste of time and the children should not be allowed to play these games. I don't completely agree with the statement. This is for several reasons.

Children are very much attracted by things that are vibrant in color and fun to interact with. So, it is possible to devise learning materials as a game. For example, there are many computer games available in the market, which can help a children to learn the alphabents with the help of songs and colorful pictures. These games can become an effective medium to help the children learn new things. I have a niece whom I have seen to learn counting and tables of numbers through computer games.

There are other ways how games can be functional and useful for the children. There are various computer games which can help a child to build different skills. In my experience, I have seen a my younger sister to learn typing by playing a game which plays very soothing tunes while giving tasks to complete typing different words. She became very proficient in typing by playing that game. Also, there are games that can bulid the general knowledge. For example, a game showing flags and asking the child to identify the country. With the increasing paucity of playgrounds, such computer games can become a source of enterntainment and refreshment for the children.

Although, these positive sides cannot completely rule out the negative sides of computer games. playing games can become an adiction and can have significant adverse health impact from sitting in front of the computer for longer period of time. There are some games that promotes violence. Children being malleable, can become violent by taking those games seriously. But proper supervision of how much time and what games the children are playing can address these problems.

In conclusion, how a technology will be used depends upon us. From the examples presented above, it can be said that computer games with teaching focus are available. This can help children to grow and even learn new skill. With careful overwathch. it is possible to circumvent the negative effects of the computer games and use it as a learning tool for the children.