"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument here is about a research on the children in the island of Tertia about how they are reared and there was comparison between two researchers work. Finally the argument compared between two research method, obeservation-centered and interview-centered, and colcuded that the interview-centered method will give more accureate result. But this conclusion is based on a number of assumptions and did not answer some major questions, which can make the conclusion weak in effect.

Firstly, the study that was first conducted by Dr. Field was conducted twenty years ago and with a different method. After twenty year, Dr. Karp used a completely different method of research. But between these two studies there is huge gap of twenty years. Much could have changed between these years. It is possible that the during the Dr. Field research the child reared by the entire village. But twenty year is a very long time and with time it might be possible that the culture of Tertia island have changed. No other indications are cited here to be sure. We have seen so many cultures in our society to be phased out within a period of ten to fifteen years. It is possible that the children of tertia and the cultures have shifted toward being more self centered. Without this information calling the conclusion of Dr. filed is not convincing.

Secondly, Dr. Karp conducted his study via interview-centered process, but here no information about the number of interviews was cited. It is very possible for a study to get biased due to the size of sample. For example if Dr. Karp interviewed 10 chindren from 1 million children in the island, that is not a very convincing represntation of the children on the island. At the same time, it is possible that all the children he interviewed might be more inclined toward their parents and talked lot about them. Thus without the size of the smaple compared to the number of children in the Tertia island, the conclusion to state interview-centered study will give more better result is overstated.

Furthermore, in the conclusion it was stated that to get a more accurate result the interview-centered policy should be espoused. But it did not gave any reasoning behind it other than the result from Dr. karp's study. It is possible that the result from the study was anomaly and might be flawed. No scientific approach was given how it faired better than the observation-based study. It is possible that the interview-based study is more time-consuming and costly. Thus limits its ability to cover the full nation. Where as the observation-based study, being devoid of the necessity of the human contact might give better opportunity to cover the whole population. Without these information we cannot just declare the interview-centered study more appropriate.

Thus, although the result of the two researcher differed from each other, considering the fallacies involved in the logic of the assumptions, more evidence is needed to make the decisoion about which way of study is better.