Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

For a nation, self-defense is a very important aspect, for which every nation try to have a strong military. At the same time, to keep the people entertained, different form of arts plays a imoportant role. In this statement is is agrgued that goverment should spend as much for arts as they do for the military. Being self-sufficient in defense of the nation is one of the most important priority, government should focus more on military but should not left the arts completely, but the arts does not require the same amount of attention in current global situation.

A better military is always a matter of pride for a nation and gives a sense of security. We have seen many countries with large and strong military which emits their might. US military is one of the strongest military of the world and had the large amount of national budget allocated for them. Many radical research have came out from this investment from which we have been benefitted immensly. The wifi that we cannot live with out, the GPS that we use for navigation are some example of this. Also, many statistical theory has made its way to civilian use from the investment made for the research for the military during World War II.

Furthermore, as the saying goes, prevention is better than cure, having an updated military prevents many threats from attacking. If we consider the US military: they have versatile branches of military equiped with updated weapon technologies that the other countries don't want to interfare with their actions. At the same time US is target for many terrorist group which calls extra attention to the security of the country. Also, US military is playing a role to minimize the terrorist threat all over the world by helping other nations. This requires a lot of money and justifies the spending for them.

ALthough, one might argue that this is the era of diplomacy and arts forms are the soul food for mass people. So, that also requires similar amount of attention. Though this can be proved to be true to some extent but we have seen the diplomatic approaches to fail. A goverment cannot take chance in such matter of national security. But the goverment should also patron the arts sector to some extent to nuture young talents who enriches the culture of the nation.

As long as countries cannot resolve all their issues in a civil way, the need for the military will be there and to keep this required force updated investment need to be made. But the investment in arts forms and the military need not to be mutually exclusive. But considering the current global situation, The military demands more investment from the goverment.