Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this busy life of the current world, weekend is the one thing that everyone looks forward to arrive every week. I think, everyone like me, has their own plans sketched up for the weekend. In this statement it is posited that jobs with working long hours but for only three days a week are more enjoyable than jobs with five worksdays and shorter hours. I agree with this statement and I will discuss the reasons behind my opinion in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, a week with four off days is an opportunity to get enough rest and attend to the needs of the personal life. One might argue that working for long hours will reduce the benefits of having four off days as a person will be very stressed due to the longer working hours. But, one should consider other factors involved. If a person works at a distant place, then he has to commute a longer distance everyday for five days a week. This commute has its own taxing on the person even if the workings hours are short. Moreover, resting for one day is enough to recover form the stress of working long hours. For instance, my own experience is a compelling reason. Currently I work as an engineer in a reknowned company where I have five workdays. There are days when I don't have any work but still have to come to the office which is a two hours drive from my home. If I were allowed to work a little extra time, I could have finished the works in three days or may be even in shorter time. Thus, I could have done the same amount of work but in fewer days and could have saved myself from the long journey to office. This would have enabled me with enough time to brush up my guitar skill.

Furthermore, when there are fewer days to works, people tends to be more attentive and dilligent in their work. There is little scope for procrastination then and the employees will become more efficient. It can be beneficial for both the company and the employee. In Europe, a poll conducted among the office workers showed that they will prefer working for longer hours and fewer days over few hours and more days. Their reasoning was that it would freed their time which they could have used for their family. My father, who was a goverment employee, had an standard five days a week job. He remained busy with his work and took the first day of the weekend for resting. My mother always complained that he never got enough time from my father during the weeks, and to that my father also agrees. This is another strong reason for me.

In the conclusion, with the discussion and reasons stated above, to strike a balance between a work life and having a personal life, working longer hours for three days is more practical and enjoyable to me over the working five days a week.