Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The topic here is about a type of woven basket of particular distinctive pattern which was first thought to be exclusive only to the village of Palea and the implication of finding a basket in another village far from the Palea village across a river. upon this finding it was thought this Palean baskets might not be that much unique after all and their decision was based on the not being able to find any Palean boat to cross the river as the river is very deep. Although this sounds very logical and convincing to reach the final decision lets first scrutiny the undelying assumptions behind this judgement.

The main assumption hee is based on not finding any boat of paleans as the river is very broad and deep. This assumption can be identified as flawed in several senses. Firstly, just the Paleans might have used boats, but just because none of them are found yet, we can say that there was no boat at that. also, there might have been some other mode of transportation available at that era which allowed them to cross the river effectively. Again from the arguement it is understood that the river is currently very deep and broad. This might not have been the case at at that period of time as it is geographically know that the depth and the pathway of river changes over the period of time due to many natural causes.

alternatively, it is also possible that the their were some other land crossing abailable at the time with the ancient village from the village Palea. Which enabled the people of Palea to move their and taking this baskets along with them. It is also posssible that some migrant from the village Palea had taken such a basket with him to the village. it is plausible that the migrant might have the skills to make that basket over there. Also there are possibilities that this could have a gift from someone from the Palean village to that village across the river. among other possibilities it is also possible that this basket was used as a trae item for some sort of transaction and reached their by some itinerant person who once visited the Palean village. Furthermore, it is also possible that the basket was moved to that village at a later time when transportation medium to cross the river was established.

From the lessons learnt through the passage of time we have seen the arts and culture along withs skills to be transffered from one nation to another. This transfer was made possible through several direct and indirect mode, like traveling, exchange of gift and expertise of people. So, form the arguement presented before, it can be said that based on just not finding any Palean boat which might be found later and the Brim river being very deep and broad at present it cant be dismissed that the basket was not unique to the Palean. There could be several ways how a basket could have reached that village. So, more cogent evidence is required to strongly dismiss the claim that Basket was not uniquely Palean.