Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Arts are sometimes posited as the soul food for human but most of the time it is seen that laypersons generally don't associate with this sentiment. It is more easier to reach people using the language of athletics and other forms of sports with which the people can relate easily. So, I disagree with the statement and it is my opinion that goverments should invest more money in the field of athletics rather than spending for arts. I will disscuss the reasons behind my opinion in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the success of the athlets becomes a matter of pride for their nation and can give the nation hope. Sports in any form can be an ambassador for a nation. It is seen in the past that sports has been used to forge bond between two nations. Sometimes, it is also seen as a matter of might. My own experinece is a compelling reason behind my opinion. During the commonweath games last year, one of my friend participated in the "High Jump" segmant. And, to everyones surprise he won the bronze medal, which is a first for our country in High Jump. All the newspaper covered the story in the front page. At that time there was an unrest in the area from where he was. The disputing parties came together in honour of his achievement. This how much impact athletics can have and thus goverment should sponsor such activities.

Furthermore, athletics being related with physical activities, promoting this can have a positive effect on the public health. If such activities get proper nuture from the goverment and become well funded, more people will be interested in such activites. These sports can become an alternative source of entertainment. From another experinece I saw the rise of a local club in my area which worked with the drug addicted people. They helped them to rehabilitate by the engaging them in athletics. With time, their success become more noticable and the local authority began to fund the club as it helped with maintaining the law and order situation. If this can be implemented country wide with the the goverment behind as financial support, this can have a great impact.

In conclusion, with the stated reasons above, I storngly believe that the goverment should spend more on the atheletics, sports clubs and sponsor athletics teams. Thus, it can have a greater positive effect than by spending money in arts.