Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

University is the place where the students specializes in the field of study of ones choice and acquire in-depth knowledge of that field. If that field of study is not history, there is a little to no need for a university student to study the history courses. I disagree with the statement here and I will discuss the reasons of my disagreement in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, University is the place where we expand on the general knowledge we gather in college with a particular focus like some chooses physics, some chooses biology, etc. In this modern era of competition, specialization in a particular field is valued more than having bits and pieces of knowledge in several fields. As the university study program is a time limited program, there is no point in using a portion of that valuable time in studying subjects that will not help a student in his career. What will be the use of history to an engineer? One incident of my friend is a compelling reason for my opinion. One of my friend was pretty bad with history. He had troubles to remember historicals names and dates. As he always wanted to be an engineer, no one was more happy than him when he passed the college as history is not a mandatory course for engineering. He got enrolled in mechanical engineering of a reknown university. Within his second year in the university, he made a robot that provides support to disable person during walking and this won him a national prize. So, not studying history in the university did not hinder him from doing great things.

Moreover, university study is an investment of time and money on the part of the students. The students always want to have focused curriculum that will help them to achieve certain skill which will enable them to earn in the future. Now, if the students are forced to take history courses regardless of whether they want it or not can affect their motivation of study. This can also have a negative impact on their result. One of my experience is the reason behind taking this position. In college, another friend of mine struggled with the history courses too. He struggles so much that he barely passed those courses and got the lowest possble grades. This lowered his total GPA and had a bad impact on his motivation for higher studies. In addition, he also had to explain the reason of his bad result in his admission essays although his GPA sans the history courses were quite good.

In conclusion, with the explanations above I stand by my position that students should not be forced to take history courses regardless of their field of study.