The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College. "To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memo sent to the director of student housing of Buckingham College, it was argued to build several new dormitories to accomodate the future student intake which is following a growing trend. But the reasoning made to reach the conslusion is based on many assumptions and missing evidence, lack of which have the potential to weaken the conclusion.

The author here assumed that the growing trend of student enrollment will remain the same for the next 50 years, which will make the student number double in the college. This is a very long period of time and no reasoning behind for exact reason why the student intake is increasing is given along with why it will continue to increase. It is possible that the College might be providing some new scholarship program for the next five year. After that program the student intake might decline, resulting in the existing dormitories being sufficient. At the same time, no information about the current housing condition is stated, how much of it it utilized at the moment. It is also possible that the college is situated in a suburban area, where the rent is low and the student prefer to live off campus. This informations are required to make the decision to build more dormitories more sound.

Furthermore, the author stated here that the average cost of housing is rising in the town. Average rent does not give the complete picture of the rent. It is possible that a more developed part of the town has higher than average rent which increased the average rent. Again, It might be possible that where the student prefer to live for off-campus has lower than the average rent, even lower than the dormitories cost. This can result in the more shift of student from dormitories to the off-campus living arrangement. at the same time, it is not stated here, whether the cost of building new dorms will have effect on the cost of students. If it incrases the cost of studying in the college, this might have a blow on the increasing student intake.

Another reasoning made by the author here is that attractive new dormitories will attract more new students. But that might not be the case as other motivating factors might be in play for the students to choose a college. For example, if another college has better engineering program than the Buckingham College, a student wanting to be an engineer might choose the other college over Buckingham. Also, the attractive new dormitories might become costly for a student to bear chose alternative living arrangement, which will in turn defeat the main purpose of building the dormitories.

Building new dormitories to accomodate students is a necessary step but in this case of Buckingham college many unanswered questions and assumptions are there to make a clear decision. This might be profitable for the college by attacting more students, but the justification of the cost needs to more cogent by clearing the assumpptions and unanswered questions made by the author.