Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The author gave an opinion about the investing the resources on the unmanned space flight instead of manned flight by stating that unmanned flight has lower costs and risks. But this conslusion is based on several conslusion which if proved otherwise can undermine the base of this conslusion reached in the opinion.

The author assumed that the all the works required in the space flight can done unmanned. It might be possible that many works like repairs and research up there requires a person to be involved. For example, the International Space Station sometimes requires the astronauts to do space walks to do repair works. Also, if the goals of the mission is to study the affects of deep space travel on human for future, the is no alternative of manned space flight. Thus it might be imperative to continue the research into manned flight.

Furthermore the author said here that manned space flight is costly and dangerous but did not provide any data on that. If we actually see the data on the space flights, we could see that although there had been some fatal accidents, but most of them has been successfull. Also, the author assumes here that the functions intended here for the space flight requires no men. If the goal of the spcae flight is to establish a colony on the mars, it is not possible without sending human in that flight. Also, it is possible that new technology invented can actually significantly reduce the costs and risks for manned flight.

Also, in this argument the author did not give any information about the success of the manned flight. The information given as the recent success of unmanned flights could have been an anomaly. At the same time it is possible that the manned flight has seen success as good as or even better than their counterpart of unmanned flights. It is also possible that the advancement in technology has minimized the risks in the manned flight and made it more safer than the previous era. Without this information this opinion sounds inconclusive.

Althought the proposal of the author has merit to it, but there are some assumtions made to reach the proposal have some flaws. Before making a decision about diverting all the resources toward the unmanned flights, these assumptions needs to be scrutinized more carefully.