The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Some says music is a soul food, some says it is a drug for a broken heart. We have seen so many famuos singer in the past and seen rise of so many popular talented singer. They have diversified and enriched the field of music. But is it a matter of contention to some people that the fame interfere with the honest assessment of a musicain's talent. As we live in the era of information when open opinion is much appreciated, one can easily express their likings in this regard. Ans as music is a art form no particular standard is there to judge a musicians talent. So, it is not necessary that a popular musician's fame will actually hinder the honest assessment during his or lifetime to be accurate in judging the musician's talent.

In the west, we have seen a number of generes rise in the music industry. There are rock, pop, rap etc. types of song. Although some of this genres struggled at time, but each genre has produces a number of legendary musicians. We can name Sir Elton John, Elvis, Eminem as a recognisable name in individual music sectors. All of their works are available to the mass people and each genre has their own follower base. As music is a matter of art, the very nuances appeal differently to different type of people. One characteristics of a genre might not be even applicable to the other genre. Also the taste of music keep changing over time. So, It will not be even fair to judge a musician in terms of the standard set in a later decades.

If we look at the field of classic music in india, we can find many famous musician like Pandit Ravi Shankar, Ar Rahman, Mitali Mukharjee, etc. Their music has stood the test of time and still extant. Although the origin of the music remain fairly archaic, but each passing generation has their superstars in this genre of music. They were venerated at their time and still remembered by the current generation. A good critic can always identify a gem of his respective field and can actually judge the talent based on the merit of the music not on the fame. At the same time as an art form, it is not also fair to judge a contemporary music with a standard from a different time.

Although, music taste vary from person to person, a critic or reviewer can be biased to a certain genre of music or might have personal opinion against a musician. Also, in current age of communication an honest opinion against the mass choice might result in serious lash back. Thus the critics stay aware to always give the unqualified version of their opinion. Thus, sometimes a seemingly popular but inferior music might be appealing for a few months or even years. But eventually disappears when the craze diminishes and does that very quickly. In the recent time, we have seen so many example of this phenomenon, like the song "Gangnum Style", which garnered so many listeners, yet got forgotten very quickly.

So, in the era of technology, although tech assisted singers have arisen and created little buzz, but they were ephemeral. Most of the talent famous musicians passed the test of time and stayed popular regardless of their era, current of future. So in the age of open imformation it is not appropriate to say that a singer's fame might hinder honest judgement of talent.