Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

here the author compared two realtors by their agents number and his personal experinece with them and based on that he suggested his friend to go with the Adams Relaty. This conclusion can be judged as flawed on multiple account. One cant judge a realtor company only by its number of agents and the revenue it generated, Their is also the factor of which market segmant they are targeting not all the buyers has the same requirement. Here the author first compared the number of real estate agents where the Adams realty has more realtor that fitch realty. He also emphasised on the issue that many of the agents of the Fitch realty is part time job holder. This doesnt automatically disqualify the FItch realty as a inferior firm. It might their business strategy to minimize cost by employing part time yet more effective and efficient agent to save more cost. This might be their operating policy to make profit.

To make his judgement, the author also use the revenue to compare the two firms. But revenue doesnt always tell you the full story. One company might be earning more revenue but their cost might be hogher which shaves off the profit. In this cas, where the number of employee is higher for Adams Realty their revenue is not that much higher the fitch. Also the Fith Realty has lesser staff with more part timer, which will result in less operating cost which in turn will result in higher profit margin. If this is the case than the Fitch Realty is the clear winner here. But the question is whether which company makes more money should be the selection criteria. Just because one company making big bucks doesnt automatically tranlates success in realtor's sector. One might have few big client thus earn big commission, on the other hand one might making money by larger quantity of clients.

Also the author used his past experience with them to come to a conclusion, where less time was taken with the Adams Realty. But this might not reflect the true scenario as the location and type of the house he was selling was not mentioned in the passage. The area ehre the house is situated and the type of house might be of a very important factor. A beach house might sell more pro,ptly with good price whereas a house in the suburban are might not sell that fast. again a duplex might more appealing to certain type of buyer whereas the a sigle storied building might not. This factor could affected the four month long period with Fitch Realty where the location or the type of the house resulted in longer period to match up a buyer as well as for the promtness of the second seel of the buyer with Adams Realty. But this doesnt necessarily reflects the true evaluation of the writer.

thus from the assumptions made by the author, one can agree that while it sounds very appealing and cogent, there are some serious issue with the assumptions behind the authors reasoning. To choose a Real estate firm one should not rely on the number of agents and revenue only. although a peer's review is of some major impact, one should also consider what type of house one is selling, where the house is located and the margin of profit and commission he is considering. By judging these criteria one should choose the the firm which best caters to the need of his own.