Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

From TV screen to PC to mobile phone, all of them have become a source of information. The way people get their news has changed significantly in the last decade. Also, thanks to the large amount of media outlet and internet, the amount information we get has become huge. This has in turn, shorten the focus on a particular issue no matter how important that topic is. Although this influx of information is percieved good for its vesatility, the overall effect of such shorter span of attention caused by this deluge of information has resulted in a negative effect on the society.

For example we can take several incidents in Bangladesh. In 2018 there was a mass movement against the frequent people killing in road accidents. The issue stayed as the headline for few several days and then was replaced by another new but less alarming issue of bribery case. Such shorter span actually hindered the built up required for the movemnt to be successful. Again, in recent time raping of children and women has increased alarmingly. Every time such incident occurs, they stay in the news cycle for few days and then got forgotten very quickly. Some mass media might follow up those incidents but that is not enough. Even the government of Bangladesh is sometime accused of using such phenomenon. Whenever a mass movement stats to form, the goverment create another issue so that public interest shift from that movement.

Another pressing issue arised from such avaiability of infortmation from multiple sources is the possibility of manipulation of public opinion. Although all sorts of news media are supposed to stay neutral but most of them have hidden or open bias to particular political party or thought. They may present a incident in a distorted way which can vary from media outlet to outlet. Thus it can crate mass confusion too. During the US election of 2016 we have seen so many example of such mass manipulation and confusion. In this age of media many phony websites are available frequently & sometime it is hard to distinguish them for the mass people.

Although this influx of information and media outlets and internet news source has negative sides, it has contributed in some good ways too. Like there had been poweful algorith that matches news from one's preference and present them only. Thus a person can stay updated to the particular area of choice more efficiently. Also the more availability of choice results in more opportunity to check the factual correctness of a information.

Since the beginning of satellite transmission and internet the way of our news consumptions has changed significantly. There is several pressing disadvantage to it due to its susceptibility to the bias and corruption. But the advantage are also significant enough and cautios steps can strike the balance regarding how to use and stay updated without falling to the traps of manipulation in the vast information sea.