A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Every society is governed by a number of laws and has their own justice system to maintain the law and order in the society. In this statement it is posited that if a person commits a crime willfully, he should not be allowed to have any civil rights ans his contribution in the society should not result in any return to him or her. This is a very harsh decision and there are instances where people are forced to commit a crime. Thus such harsh punishment are not sound in the context of a civil society.

We all live in a society and dependent on each other and every person has their roles. There are laws and law enforcing agencies to maitain order in the society. Still there are many instances where a person can break an established law and commit a crime. now to give an example we can consider a scenario. As life is sacred, thus a person killing another person is highly punishable but there is a possible scenario that he might have been forced into doing that for self defense. Is it possible to blame a person to do something in self-defense? Also, every country has their own order and justice system placed to evaluate the crimes and handing punishment to those who actually deserves it. But ostracizing someone from the society for life for a mistake is very harsh. In the US many states have revoked the right to vote for the convicts which resulted in a shear in the thread of the society.

Furthermore, the way of judging is not the same in every country. For example, it might be a punishable crime to smoke in public in a country and a trivial matter in other country. At the same time, the way of bringing up and the enforcement of established laws plays a vital part in building up the moral base of person. If someone sees that crimes goes unpunished in a society, he might get encouraged to break a law. Before punishing someone we have to understand the motive behing the action. Every nation has set up correctional facilities to retake this persons in the society. Although a crime might have been committed willfully but that does not make a person inherently bad. For example, someone breaking traffic laws to drive an ambulance to the hospital.

Although, we should not make harsh punishment to a person and give them a seconfd chance, but we need to have a effective sytem in place for punishing crimes that are done willfully. Otherwise it might result in higher frequency of that crime. For example, lack of punishment in the cases of rape crime in bangladesh has resulted in high frequency of this crime. there are such intances which call for capital punishment but this should not be the standard for every other punishment for crime.

Thus, a crime should not go unpunished or it might result in repeatation of that crime. Correctional facility and other degree of punishment should be place to reprimand the offender. But every life is sacred, thus a person who commits a crime should not be excluded from the society for good.