To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Now a days with the ever evolving technology, the cities have become the centers of any new developement in the society and here the argument is that studying the major cities one can aunderstand the important characteristics of that society at that time. With the focus of developement of a nation way more centralization is a very common phenomenon as most of the facilities and new advancement in techlogies are deluged in the cities. As a result people from outside of the cities get attracted move to the cities as they provide more and better opportunities for earnings. Also we can find the latest trends and issues to be more expressed and demonstrated in the cities. If we look at the recent past, the arab spring that swept the middle east wast first initiated in the cities. Although, that might the case, this can also lead to some biases in observation as the view of the socity might become parochial. this points will elaborated in flow of the following passages.

In the ancient times, in the era of roman emperor, the city of rome was the representative of that time. Much of developement of knowledge of various brances of science, the application democracy all could have found in the city of Rome. We can get a very wholesome picture of how the society ran and functioned in that time. The ways of life of the city dwellers were more influential than the people lived in the rural ares. If we even shift our focus to the current modern era, metropolitans like new york, chicago, Abu Dhabi, paris all gives a very loud and clear picture of the culture and the way of living there. That deep dish pizza delicacy to the capped robe in abu dhabi all plays a significant role in values and tradition in the society.

However, the folk culture which is more dominant in the rural ares of the are also of very important role player in shaping a society. Mostly in the aisna countries, like Bangladesh, India, china, the rural and sub-urban areas still plays a very significant social, economical role in the society. The upbringing of the future generation is greatly impacted by that and we can observe the effect in the later life. Although with time this cultures are becoming more more archaic. At the same , if we only focus on the cities to understand a society we might get a very opartial picture as most of the major cities are well nurshied with boutines from the government. although that might be the case, still the one cant just discount that this cities are the main center in building the nation, thus influencing the characteristics of the society.

From the presented arguement above , we can agree thtat observing the major cities give a understanding of the characteristics of the scociety, but it is not without it flaws. In thhe current world where most of daily chores are city-centric it makes more sense to focus on it and its culture to undestnd how the society functioning altogether. But we can not also completely ignore the rural ares and the folk culture. Combining them together gives us the comprehensive picture of a society.