Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether the mass media and internet helping people to find the most important news by enhancing people's ability of sorting through a stream of news or these media are just shortening the span of people's attention. Indisputably, when there are a lot of news, it is hard to focus on one. And many times, there are news which are wrongly described as internet has less restriction then conventional media. Nevertheless,

it is the modern mass media that actually have broaden people outlook and scope of thinking. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that internet or mass media have shorten people's span of attention and would argue that it is the other way round.

First of all, with the rise of mass media, people are exposed to wider range of news with nuance details. I would like to point out that, before these modern media's existence, people were exposed to very little portion of what is actually happening around. To illustrate, let us look at the example of viral videos getting justice for the victims. In this circumstance, obviously, with previous types of media, those incidents happening in the videos would not be represented with so much reality as it was happening. So people would have been less effected. Consequently, it is obvious that the help of internet, it helped people to get an evidence in their hand to act against it.

Furthermore, it help to grow sense of sorting. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that

Admittedly, modern mass media often spread some news which are wrongly describes or fake. This is true specially when it comes to internet where there is hundreds of news portal craving for audience. In addition, with massive amount of news, sometimes, many important facts get less attention than lucrative one. However, I would still argue that it just a small odd side of great thing. Because, it is the mass media that changed the course of justice with spread of news.

In conclusion, although mass media have some disadvantages, I would conclude that it's benefit are way past these disadvantage. As long as some measurements are performed and some areas are involved, mass media will be considered a blessing.