An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims here that a new breed of millet high in vitamin A would combat the deficiency of vitamin A in Tagus. Stated in this way

, the argument fails mention some key points, on the basis of which it could have been evaluated. To support his claim, the author reasons that as millet is already a staple food in Tagus, new breed with high percentage vitamin A will be easily adapted.

However, careful scrutiny of evidence proves it has little credible support to the author's claim. Hence, the argument can be considered as incomplete and unsustainable.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that people will buy the new breed of millet just because they are habituated with other breeds of millet. This is merely an assumption with any solid ground. Because, most of the time people try to buy a breed that is less costly and more tasty. They may not careful enough to consider the nutritious virtue of that breed. Hence, this claim fails to convince reader about it's efficiency.

Again, the author points out to fact that farmers will have the ability to buy costly seeds just because they will be told that it will pay them more. Most of the farmers are poor and they will not take the risk of using a new costly breed when they are already getting profit from which breed they are using. So this claim again proves to be weak and unable to draw a clear correlation between convincing farmers and combat vitamin A deficiency.

Finally, there could have been other measures taken with the same amount of effort author has mentioned in the argument. By careful testing of the evidences, the author fails to answer several skeptical question. Do people have the ability to buy new breed? Do all class of people are stable buyers of millet? Do the farmers are rich enough to take the risk of planting new breed's seeds? Aren't there any easier way of fighting the deficiency? By answering these questions, the author could have made his claim credible, because it would have justified the measure is the best way and it is doable in Tagus. But without answering them, reader is left with the assumption that, the argument is just a wishful thought of the author.