Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Mass media and the internet having an overall positive effect is detestable. Firstly the passage doesn't mention various other factors so as to come to a conclusion that an overall effect is in place. Secondly the passage says that people developed enhanced ability in sorting through important things while this activity itself requires attention.

First the passage doesn't mention of the various other effects that mass media and internet has caused to the society. People have become introverts and don't tend to talk to other people for information or help as most of it is available online. Society in general is slowly losing its ability to communicate with each other. If the passage had provided more reasons as to how the overall effect has resulted to be positive the argument would have had a stronger stance.

Secondly the passage fails to show that sorting through large quantities of information and finding what's important itself requires attention. As the passage first mentions that attention is something that people have lost due to mass media and internet whereas the very activity on which the conclusion is drawn requires attention thereby making the conclusion from the passage disagreeable.

Therefore if the passage had contained information pertaining to the factors mentioned above, it would have had a stronger stance in concluding that mass media and internet have given a positive effect.