Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The author of the passage suggests that by emulating the way early hominids ate, we can cure many chronic illness. The author argues that these types of food have many health promoting nutrients. I believe that the passage has two fallacies, which i will explain in the following essay.

First fallacy, the author doesn't provide information on the differences in living conditions, weather and various other factors that affected ancient and current humans to adopt different food habits. For instance, people in the colder regions tend to eat food which warms their body while people from moderately hot regions tend to eat food which cools their body. If the author had provided such details in showing how Paleo diets are useful to specific regions of the world, then the passage would have had a stronger stance.

Second fallacy, the author himself has no ironclad evidence or referential data to prove that Paleo diets indeed has many health-promoting nutrients to cure chronic illness. The author first talks about how proponents the claim the diet has nutritional value, then he talks about how the skeptics think it is otherwise and finally argues based on anecdotal evidence that the diet has nutritional value. This shows that author is ambivalent and not definitively sure about the facts. If the author had provided better evidence that referenced trusted sources, then his arguments would be strong.

In conclusion, by examining the various factors involved in showing that emulating the Paleo diet would cure many chronic illness, the argument does not address the above fallacies. While the proposal does highlight a possibility, more information is required to warrant any action.