Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

While this argument does provide information suggesting that paleo diets do have a positive effect on human health, it fails to account for some of the potential coincidence in these findings.

The argument provides multiple claims of benefits to adopting the paleo diet, such as bone broth promoting nerve regeneration. In the second sentence, it introduces the view points of skeptics to the diet, who use the fact that eating cartilage doesn't regrow lost cartilage as a counterpoint against those claiming the diet. However, because these two groups of people are only mentioned using the titles of "proponents" and "skeptics", there's no way to know the knowledge base that members of these groups actually have, or whether each group of statements is only based on personal opinions.

It's also stated that there is anecdotal evidence that those who eat bone broth have lower cases of metabolic or inflammatory disease than people who don't eat it. While this may be true, the argument again fails to provide background on those giving this evidence, and assumes that it comes from reputable sources. Even if this result has been seen to be true, there may be other reasons beyond an impact on the consumption of bone broth. Those who eat the broth may also pay more attention to their health in other ways that prevent or lower the chance of having these diseases, meaning the consumption of bone broth may not be the actual cause for these findings.

The assumption of this past statement as fact also informs the last sentence of the argument, which suggests that there is ancient wisdom in the paleo diet, and that following these dietary habits can possibly cure many current chronic illnesses. Firstly, it assumes a clear intentional knowledge that early hominids would have had in their diets, rather than merely a limited amount of access to certain foods. It also assumes that our current physiology is similar enough to our ancestors that the same type of diet won't have different effects on our potentially evolved physiology, a thought that hasn't been supported by any firm claims throughout the rest of the argument. Lastly, it also connects a possible cure for chronic illness to these ancestral ways of eating, for which clear evidence hasn't been provided. Even if the paleo diet does have a positive effect in decreasing metabolic and inflammatory ilness for some people as stated earlier, this doesn't prove that "many" chronic ilnesses can be cured by this or other ancient ways of eating, and also fails to consider that these diets could even have harmful effects on those with or without diseases.

The argument overall is based around certain assumptions of the beneficial relationship between adopting a paleo diet and curing illness or diasease, without providing enough evidence to support them.