Undergraduate students with majors in Business or the Sciences shouldn't be required to take classes in the Humanities, because these classes won't have any benefit in future careers.

Although undergraduate students absolutely benefit from the courses required within their majors, I disagree with the statement that Business and Science majors shouldn't take humanities courses because they aren't a benefit. It can be beneficial for these majors to take courses in the Humanities because the courses can provide benefits in the future outside of a chosen career, may teach lessons of an unexpected benefit in Business and Science related careers, and taking the extra courses can serve as a break from the monotony of major-required courses while theses students are still in school.

College is a space where students can garner many lessons, both within and outside of those specific to their future careers. This is the reason for non-academic clubs, spirit events, and the wealth of activities that take place on college campuses outside of the classroom. For those majoring in Business or the Sciences, courses specific to their majors are often tailored for the career paths they choose to take after college that there may be classes that only those already committed to that career path are encouraged to take them (an engineering class created specifically for mechanical engineers, for example.) But classes offered in the Humanities often teach life skills that may never be used in a Business or Science major's career path, but would be extremely useful outside of work. Requiring that students within these majors take English or Public Speaking classes, for example, could potentially better prepare them to move throughout the world outside of work time better equipt than if they had only taken classes within their majors.

The benefits gained within Humanities classes may also benefit Business or Science majors within their chosen careers, in ways that classes within their major couldn't. There are many careers that students with these majors may go into after graduating, and with these different careers come challenges that may not have been anticipated by those creating the curriculums within their majors. For intance, past studies have found that there are many professionals working in the medical field who have antiquated ideas when it comes to bias against certain groups of patients, like the concept of women or racial minorities feeling pain in different ways that other groups of people. While these outdated concepts aren't necessarily taught in Science classes, students coming into college already believing them often aren't given the opportunity to have them challenged within these classes. However, if some of these students were required to take classes in Sociology or Ethnic Studies, they may be able to best arm themselves with the facts and take this new knowledge with them to better their success in future careers.

As a former Science major, I can also attest that the courseload required for students within the Science and Business majors are often heavy in the work required to best succeed. While classes offered in the Humanities aren't necessarily easier in the amount or hardship of work, the requirement of classes outside a student's major can serve as a welcome change in pace. Having the ability to take classes not required for one's major and still have them count towards needed credits can allow these students to potentially pick the Humanities classes they find most enjoyable, making the work itself needed to do well in the class more enjoyable to complete as well.

While courses required for Business and Science majors are absolutely a benefit for their future careers, those within the Humanities can be beneficial as well, both during the time spent as an undergraduate, and after graduating and moving forward to more schooling or the work force.