Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society's issues.

I disagree with the idea that science and technology will be able to solve all of society's problems one day, because not only are some societal problems beyond the scope of science and technology, but some have actually been directly caused by those fields.

There are a wealth of problems in society, and within that range, many lack a solution from science and technology. The issue of homelessness, for example, is such a overwhelming problem that I don't believe it can be solved just using science and technology. The issue is influenced by multiple factors that aren't solely scientific, such as the economy at any given point in time, a lack of physical space for housing within a certain city, and the fact that many people who are homeless also face other forms of discrimination that affect their accessibility for housing. These are influenced by many emotional and political factors that may not have a solid solution just due to science or technology.

In addition, certain societal issues have been directly caused by science and technology, and require work from outside these fields to be solved. Henrietta Lacks was a Black woman whose DNA has directly contributed to the technology currently used to help treat, and potentially cure, several fatal diseases for over 50 years. This DNA was harvested from her without her being given accurate information about the usage or monetary compensation, and her family went decades unaware of the scietific gift she have given to humanity. From a purely scietific mindset, the knowledge gained outweighs that fact that she and her family were clearly mistreated, but the scientific community spent a large amount of time knowingly contributing to the problem of erasure and silencing of women of color.

The field of science and technology can often also be influenced to provide "solutions" that actually do more harm, like the production of oil from fossil fuels to push forward our potential for energy production, but a deliberate ignorance of the risks that come with this production. This can be seen in incidents like the BP oil spil that ultimately not only affected marine life in a unimaginable way, but also the health of humans who were exposed. Issues like these aren't ones that can be solved solely by science, and it could be argued that science caused these issues in the first place.

Of course, there are some societal issues that have clear connections to, and potentially solutions, in science and technology. Climate change is a scientific problem that needs to be addressed, and ultimately the solution to it is most likely to come from within the scientific field. However, this one example doesn't mean that all issues can be solved using science, and overlooks the potential harm that science and technology can do in actually creating new societal problems.