The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

Family is the building block of a society. With the evolution of time, the functions and size of a family has changed quite significantly. In the past, it was very common to find an extended family which is almost extinct in the current time. There are several reasons behind it which I agree with and my opinion is that extended family is of less importance than it was in the past.

In modern time, nuclear families are more prevalent. Nuclear family have many benefits over the extended family. In current era, the life has become more complex and people are very busy with their personal life in order to manage various aspects in their own life. Having an extended family means that one have to deal with additional responisibilities. This might not sound feasible in current time. There is also an economical benefit in having nuclear family. With the increased expense of leading life, extended family is tantammount to having additional cost. Although, an extended family may offers more mental and emotional support, but the economical aspect outweighs it in modern self-centered life style. For example, my father was brought up in an extended family. In his experience, the amount of people the grandfather has to feed was very large. It also put a pressure on my grandfather and my uncles did not contributed by the same amount to maintain the family. This sometimes led to disputes among the members and eventually my uncles broke off from the extended family and went to lead their own family life. This is a compelling reason for me to agree with the point in the statement.

Moreover, at present, people value privacy more than anything. In an extended family, it is very difficult to maintain ones private life due to the extensive exposure to the various family members which might not have been possible if they have lived apart. Another cruicial thing is that if an extended family doesn't have an specided figurehead, many disputes can arise. the reason behind this is that, everyone has their own opinion on which one tends to give more importance. If these numerous opinions contradict each other, this can result in serious dispute. For example, as once again my father was the primary bread earner of his family so my grandfather wanted to reward him by a piece of property, which my uncles did not agree with and caused problem in the family. Also, once my cousin failed in the exam, which his mother did not intended to divulge. But it got out by another member of the family which caused great mental distress on my cousin. This depicts the concern of lack of privacy. Thus is a very compelling reason behind my opinion.

Thus, from the discussion above, although extended families have some merit to it, it no longer of the much importance to the current reality and life style. Nuclear family has supplanted it due to a number of reasons like economic concerns, privacy concerns, life style, etc.