Tpo 10 Do you agree with statement that playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them

Due to the negative media portrayals of video games, many parents believe that playing those games is time-consuming and has no positive influence on their children. I strongly disagree with this belief, as I see computer games bring more benefits than harm if they are played in moderation.

The first reason why playing computer games is not a waste of time is because it can be very helpful in developing and enhancing children's cognitive functions. In order to be able to play any games with satisfaction, young players have to learn how to play first. This requires a variety of skills, such as problem-solving, literacy and numeracy skills, that children can start learning and practicing through reasonable scaffolding levels of the games. For example, Minecraft and Roblox are the two popular video games among children these days. I have tried these games as an adult, in order to know if they are good for my nieces to play on their computers and I have to admit they are well-made. The games appear easy at first so the players can gradually get used to all the steps and rules. After a week or so, players are allowed to create and build their own world with their own imagination and strategies. I consider such games have a great potential to help my nieces improve their cognitive skills in a very entertaining way, thus, it would feel so rigid and strict to me if children are not allowed to play games.

Beside being a convenient means of recreation and self-improvement, computer games can also be a means of social learning which also promotes communication and other prosocial activities. In fact, since all games are made by humans, they are mostly about situations that are relevant to the real life. Young children can get to experience worlds that are familiar or unfamiliar to them and learn the way life goes. For instance, children who play farm and village games familiarize themselves with farming life such as farming activities, farm animals and crops; meanwhile who play space travel games can get to know more about how it feels to control a spaceship. Even though such worlds are not real, it is the feeling of experiencing the unknown that counts. Moreover, most online games nowadays allows players to communicate with each other. I have heard many stories from my students showing off they have so much fun making friends from around the world and even practicing speaking English with their game mates. Such experience and delights are not likely to be found somewhere else especially when children are not able to travel around on their own.

All in all, by looking at the bright sides, the advantages of playing computer games for children can be enormous and irreplaceable when it comes to experiencing and learning something new about the world they are living in. Computer games won't be a wasteful investment for children's development, however, it should also be noted that everything is only good within a limit.