Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

In my opinion, I think it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subject than to specialize in one specific subject. It is possible to give several reasons for my opinion. If we consider the higher studies, the fields are becoming more interconnected. Thus knowing a wide array of topic can actually help an individual to prepare better for the higher studies rather then being specialized in one specific subject. For example, in the current competitive job environment, it is often seen that a person knowing several skills are valued over a person with one particular skill. In academic respect, I can share a personal experience. During my undergraduate studies, to understand how the heat is removed from the cutting zone of metal, I required to have the understanding of the basic of thermodynamics, mathematical model, metal characteristics. So, clearly the topics are getting more intertwined and having compund subject knowledge can help in the long run.

Secondly, having knowledge of different subjects can help in getting job more easily. In current scenario in higher studies, professors are expecting students to have knowledge of several different subjects as the professors' research works are also of composite subjects. For example, one student wanting to study ergonomics need to have the knowledge of how the muscle works in addition with the physics of movement and the biological impact of it. This illustrate the advantage of having knowledge of multiple subjects.

Moreover, getting specialized in one topic can sometimes be very limiting. For instance, there are many academic fields which are actually getting out of relevance. If someone specializes in that area, it is possible that the skill of that person might become irrelavent in future. This phenomenon could be understood if one just look at the situation after the industrial revolution which resulted in unemployemnet of many people due to their inability to shift from their previous specialization of manual work.

Although there are areas where specializing is important like academia, hospital, but in general scenario, now a days having comprehensive knowledge about multiple subjects can help an individual.