It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

If you want to be an expert, you need to master one academic discipline. That is to say that broad knowledge requires investment of all time and effort, depriving you of the opportunity to concentrate on one specific area. A degree in general management is a prime example of how broad knowledge in multiple subjects can decrease your chances of landing a job. Superficial studying of economics, accounting, law and many other majors does not enable you to gain profound knowledge in each subject, nor does it allow you to become a competitive accountant, lawyer, or economist. My own case is not the exception. Having knowledge in a wide range of academic subjects, such as mathematics, statistics, and macro-economics, I realized that my hard skills were of no real use, which made me waste a whole year gaining additional skills to get a desirable job. With hindsight, I would immerse in a specific area of knowledge instead of learning a broad range of subjects.