The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The author suggests that prohibiting skateboarding would lead to increasing number of shoppers in central plaza. Some questions need answering to evaluate the claim.

First off, the author suggests that stores owners attribute to their business decline to arisen skaters in the plaza. Still, how do these store owners make the conclusion? is any specific reason or evidence? The linkage between the number of shoppers and skaters is unclear. it may be true that people are unlikely to shop in central plaza because the environment gets dirtier due to more and more skaters. For example, skaters made many trash, and the shopping environment becomes dirtier and uncomfortable than it was before, then the shoppers are unlikely to visit. yet it could be totally different story.For instance, many shoppers found this place is so suitable for skating instead of shopping, so next time most of them come back for skating not shopping. this could explain why less shoppers and more skaters as well. The author has to answer the question to strengthen his or her argument.

Additionally, even if more and more skateboard users made lots of trash and the circumstance gets dirtier, that is not enough to elucidate the relationship from more skaters to fewer shoppers. it is not cogent just because of the store owners’ belief. how the author to do the survey? The credential should be presented. The argument may be true since all of the store are investigated by the third part with reliable reputation, they made 95% of visitors and 90% of them were unwilling to come shopping again for the sake of the excessive garbage. However, the practical situation could be disparate if the sample size is too small. For instance, maybe the writer only asks one store owner who doesn’t sell skate, as more and more skaters comes, the store owner doesn’t benefit at all. The skateboard stores business has arisen abruptly and make much money. he or she could complain about tremendously increasing skateboard users just because he or she is jealous of the neighborhood stores selling skates. Therefore, the author needs elaborating on how the store owners report the results and what methodology is used.

Furthermore, the writer suggests that skateboarding should be prohibited to expect a business recovers in central plaza. why does the author expect a prosperous business back to previously high level by prohibiting the skateboarding? Probably it is correct since no accommodation for shoppers to stay. For example, too many skaters occupy the local hotels and there is no more room available for other people who want to shop to stay, so they give up. yet there is another possibility. All of the visitors are coming for skating due to wonderful skating place, not for shopping, every winter thousands of hundreds of people swam for skating. Once skateboarding is prohibited, no people will visit and the business falls down rapidly. it is essential for the author to reply the question to make argument more convincing.

To make the argument more cogent, the author must address the above questions.