'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum, the business manager of a television station concludes that the company should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to previous level in order to attract more views to the program and to avoid losing advertising revenues. however, some musing over evidence before taking any steps is first very much in order.

first, the writer presumes that most of complaints received from viewers were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. Still, the representative of the the received results are unknown. perhaps, the person in charge of the customer service does not collect enough data covering every age levels. it is possible that 90-percent of the complaints are from the local farmers because they want more information about weather for working. it is also possible that only 5-percent of the viewers reply the questionnaires. if either of these scenarios is true, then the author’s contention that losing advertising profit and audience can be ameliorated does not hold the water.

Second of all, the article implies that the local business canceled their advertising contracts due to the declined coverage of climatic and domestic information. Nevertheless, the reasons that they end the contracts are not clear. possibly, they lose a lot of money so that they don’t have choice, but stop the advertisement. Another explanation is that the local enterprises shift the period of the advertising from later-night to morning because they found more television audience in the morning instead of night and accordingly get better effect of commercial propaganda. if either case is true, then the persuasiveness of the claim would be weaken drastically and the expected improvement would not be conceivable.

Finally, the author suggests that the rating of this television station could be elevated to the previous level by restoring the time of weather and local news to the past year standard. however, the current trend for how much time spent on these contents is not offered. In other words, the past could not represent the future. perhaps, people don’t care about the weather anymore because corona-virus outbreaks and they are not allowed to leave home. it is also possible that 95-percent people don’t care about the do resident message anymore since this city has been developed as a international airport in which plenty of foreigners live. either one of them is true, then the author is barely to claim the effectiveness of the strategy.

In conclusion, it is possible that bringing back the amount of the time on climatic and inhabitant information would have intended effect of attracting more audience and advertising chances. however, the argument is based on three incomplete evidence that undermine its persuasiveness. Therefore, the author must offer the credential of evidence mentioned above.