The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus, the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

The argument is about the planning for a ten- year budget of Calatrava city. It is said that the birthrate in this city is decreasing and it has declined one-half compared to five years ago. Based on this argument the committee estimates that the number of students who want to enroll in the school will decline and the education system will need less budget. Also, the amount of budget for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities will be reduced. So, officials can have more money for spending on facilities and programs for adults. They also estimate the adult population of the city will increase. This argument has some weaknesses that I will discuss.

The committee fails to provide persuasive statistical figures about the argument mentioned above. There is no figure for the amount of decreased birth rate. According to what figures the committee knows that the amount of birth rate has declined. Also, we have to understand how the officials know that the decline of the birth rate will stay stable in the future and the number of students will decrease. If the rate of birth increases, the result of the argument mentioned above will be reversed and the officials will face the scanty budget. Therefore, they cannot spend money on programs for adults.

Even if the rate of birth decreases, how the officials know that they will need less budget for their education system and recreational facilities. How do they know that the costs of the education system and recreational facilities will remain stable? How do they know that the adult population of the city will increase? It is possible that the number of them decreases because of different reasons such as death as a result of accident, illness and something like these. In this condition, they will not need an extra budget for spending money on facilities and programs for adults.