The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

An argument claims that birthrate is declining considering statistics about last year: birth rate about one-half as compare to five years ago. Due to that flux of the students will be decereased for enrolling in public school. Also, there will few pupils they have an interest in sports; so school authority manage to reduce budget in such activities and use that money for city facilities and programs specifically for adults. As a result population of the adult will be increased. Stated in this way argument fails to mention several points based on that it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies on an assumption that has a not strong evidence. As a result the author's conclusion is unsubstantitated and unsupported.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that last yearn birth-rate is low as compare to five years ago; so, less students join the public school. This is merely an argument without solid background. Here, I would like to mention that, there is no any connection between the birth rate and school enrollement. Consider the scenario where birth rate significantly decreased in last year; but, many foreigner people live in the city and their children study in the public school. Also, It might be possible some parents have tendency to start the school at later age. Hence, those children start their school lately as compare to regular children. Therefore, this argument has a no strong proof to raise a claim.

Secondly, the argument claims that higher authorities will able to reduce their education funds because of less children enrollment. This is again very weak and unsupported statement made by top council. Consider the scenario where high school students currently doing their research in science and technology; so, they require a copious amount of money. Hence, it is worthless to decline the budget for public school. The argument only considers the new students, that will be enrolled. But, what about the existed students? Therefore, this argument is unplausible. Apart from this, argument also mention the curbing budget for sports and that money they will able to use for adult program. Again, argument does not provide any evidence of the students who intrested in sports. It might be possible all enrolled students like to play different kind of games. Thus, this claim is again worthless.

Lastly, argument readily assumes that money will be use in adult program and it will be fostered the adult population. Consider the senario where particular county organizes special programs, but neighbour citizen have a no interest in it. So, they will never prefer to live in that county based on particular programs organized by government. Also, just organizing programs do not ensure the population of adult will increase. It depend on lot of other factors rather than just public programs.

To conclude, the author's argument unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must represent the relevant facts with respect to critical information related to the arguments. It could be considerably strengthened if author mentions all relevant facts. As a result, without compelling proofs the author's conclusion has a no legs to stand.