The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum recommends the change in rock music format to news and talk format in order to resist the decline in listeners. To support his claim, he points out to certain evidences namely rise in population but decline in listeners, rising popularity of news and talk format, proportion of retired people is high among people moving to the town and declining interest in rock and music format. The manager’s chain of reasoning seems true at first sight, however it is based on evidences which have not been evaluated such as relationship between retiring people and popularity for news and talk format. Therefore, to better evaluate the argument and analyse its logical soundness, additional evidences are required that are foundational to the line of reasoning.

First of all, are existing listeners not interested in rock and music format? In other words, the manager has not provided any evidence on the preferences of its existing listeners or listeners who have changed their preferences, if any. Since he may find that decline in listener is not due to the change in preference but because of listeners’ movement to another town in search of jobs and employment and they are still enjoying the existing format with different radio station that is available in their new residence. Further, he may also find that listeners abstain from this format available on this radio station because of outpouring of sudden and undesirable advertisements that have started in the last 6 months and thus, listeners started to dislike this gap in their entertainment. Therefore, unless these evidences are collected, the claim cannot be supported by the manager.

Secondly, are these retired people like to listen news and talk format? In other words, the manager has failed to provide any evidence on the preferences of these retired people who have settled recently. Since, it may be the case that these people are willing to listen rock music, but intuition of this radio station mistakenly assumed their preference for news because of their age and maturity level. Further, he also ignored to refer to an evidence which may provide some direction on the popularity of news format among these old people. Since, he may find that the location where this radio station is such where people would like to settle in after retirement and relish this beautiful phase of life which has minimum family responsibility, thus, they may be inclined to listen to rock music to relive their younger days of life. Therefore, until these facts are collected on these parameters, the claim made by the manager is significantly weakened.

Finally, are there no competitors in this town? In other words, the manager has ignored the presence of other radio stations in the town and the offers made by them to lure listeners. Since, he may find that there are two or three new radio stations that have come up in this town 6 months before and because they are offering some financial incentives like prizes for some quiz on music or competition to host a show one day, the listeners of WWAC have switched to these new stations. Further, he may also find that increase in popularity of news is temporary among listeners because of sudden geo political events such as war, elections or other tragic events occurred lately and it would over soon, then listeners may need music to get some relief in these difficult times. Therefore, unless the recommendation is inclusive of these evidences, the argument does not hold merit.

Thus, while concluding, with the lack of comprehensive chain of reasoning, the recommendation as it stands now, is considerably flawed. If the manager is able to offer more evidences as covered under above paragraphs and perhaps in the form of research study covering the preference of existing listeners, preference of these old people, offerings the competitors, if any, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the claim.