The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite

population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement.

We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of

recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims here that to reverse a decline in listener numbers of their radio station, they should change the content of their radio channel from current rock-music format to news and talk format. Stated in this way the author fails to consider several factors on the basis of which the argument could be evaluated. To justify the claim that changing the format of the channel from current rock-music to news and talk format the author provides very vague and incomplete reasoning points.

And after careful scrutiny of the evidences we can observe that they provide little or no solid support to the author's claims. Hence the argument here can be considered weak and uncomplete to arrive at any conclusive decision.

Fisrtly, the argument readily states that the populataion growth of the region mainly consists of people moving after retirement, but while making this claim the author does not provide us with any evidence. Also the author failed to consider here that even though if we take in account that this claim is trues but he did not provide any details regarding the taste or liking of these retirement people who have migrated here. Also the author failed to consider the previous population of the region who have remained constant but then why the decline it listener? It should have remained constant then. So he should also consider other facts like degradation in quality of their rock-music content now compared to previous time before making assumption that taste of the population had changed.

Secondly, the author assumed that the decline in sales of record is correlated with decline in listner in their radio station without any concrete evidence between this correlation. The decline in local sales of record may be due to easy accesibily of music to beople by other meanse like CDs, online streaming platforms like spotify, TVs, etc. So while making this claim and assumption author should provide us with more evidence related to this correlation and as well as deeper analysis on decline in local sales of record.

Lastly, the claim made by author regarding the increasing popularity of news and talk format in the area is not strong as author fails to provide any survey or statistical numbers related to this claim. We should also consider the fact that maybe in past there was no radio stations which were based on news and talk format and due to the newness of the content there may be a abnormal spike which may decrease in coming days and also there may be already too many radio stations who have shows related to news and talk content, so switching into this already overcrowded format/content may bring negative results to listner numbers.

In conclusion, author have to provide us with more evidence raised in above paragraphs to bolster his argumant and arrive at a conclusive decision by providing us with more survey numbers or statsistics based on listener. Finally, in the current state it would not be possible to agree with the authors claim.