The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry,

or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A leader can be a true leader only by leading his team or subordinates from the front not by competing with them rather leading them from the front with mutual cooperation. The author states that to nurture a young person for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Though the statement may sound confusing and complicated to choose one quality over another for creation of an apt leader, but I agree with the author here because a person to be true leader should understand his subordinates or team by cooperating with them and working together as a team rather than treating them as opponents.

A leader is able to extract full potential from his team only when he know the nerve or emotion of his colleagues. This help him to lead his team to their goal by motivating them and making them realize their full potential. This could never be achieved if a leader or potential leader have a competitive behavior and treat his team to be his opponents. As, this will create a negative environment in the team and they will never be able to work with their full potential or in another way may work against each other.

It is also very important to note that cooperation between teammates creates mutual respect from each other. This creates a positive environment in the team which creates a helpful attitude among people and they are able to achieve their goal easily. If we take the example of a marketing team in a company, if the leader creates a competitive environment without any cooperation among teammates than they will never be able to reach their target, as in such a situation everyone will be competing attitude. But, if the leader is able to create a cooperative environment and let them understand the need of cooperation to reach their goals then they will not only be able to reach their individual goal but also due to cooperative environment will help any team members lacking in his/her field of work.

Some, may argue that a leader can only be born only when he has a competitive attitude to defeat all his opponent to be the ultimate leader. But, this may lead to achievement of his/her short term goal but in order to be great leader one should always cultivate a cooperative attitude. This will not only help in his growth but the overall growth of the company and his colleagues, which defines a true leader. In conclusion although a pinch of competitiveness is always important to push oneself to increase his/her potential but in case of a leader cooperation or working as team will always holds more importance.