The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to

decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and

explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that the optimal way to reduce operating cost in Movies Galore’s stores without jeopardizing their reputation is by implementing changes in other nine Movies Galore stores as piloted in downtown Marston last month. But the argument stated in this way raises lots of questions like what is the proportion of average number of customers coming to store before 6:00 PM to 6:00 PM and 9:00 P.M. in all 10 stores and is it simlar in each stores?

The second important questions which needs to be answered is that, How is the demand of movies released more than five years ago in all stores and how does it varies across its 10 stores? The conclusion of the argument relies a lot on the similarities of all the stores for which there is no clear evidence. Hence the argument is weak or unconvincing without answers to the above stated questions.

Firstly, to verify the conclusion of the argument we will require answer regarding ratio of the customers coming to stores before 6:00 PM to 6:00 PM and 9:00 P.M. for the 10 stores. The answer for this question will verify the conclusion of the argument as there may be a case where the avaerage number of customers visiting the downtown Marston is very low after 6:00 PM as compared to 6:00 PM and 9:00 PM, so there was not a significant impact of the store being closed after 6:00 PM. But this may not be a case for other 9 stores as some or all other stores might have a high footfall between 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM as compared to day time. So, in a situation there will be great negative impact on the revenue by implementing the proposed change in timing therby causing decline in profits for the company.

Secondly, the other important question which need to be addressed is the demand of movies released more than five years ago in all stores. This answer to this question is also very important in order to justify the conclusion as in different region the demand for different type of movies may differ. There may be a case that mostly young crowd like college students live near the downtown Marston, due to which the demand for older movies is less. But this may be not the case with other 9 stores, as the people living near those stores may be middle aged or senior citizen. In such as situation for such stores the demand for older movies (released more than five years) may be higher. So, implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores as piloted in downtown Marston store may have a negative impact on the profits.

In conclusion, for proper evaluation of the claim and to derive at the stated conclusion that the profits of Movies Galore stores will increased if similar changes are made in the store timings and stock of other nine Movies Galore stores as piloted in downtown Marston last month, we require answers to the above stated questions. Without answer to these questions it would not be possible to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result.