The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer

people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the

percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies

actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not

reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of

our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the

public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the

recommendation.

The argument claims that allocating a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising and make them aware of good quality movies based on reviews will increase viewership in Super Screen-produced movies. Stated in this way the argument manipulates facts and present a distorted view of the situation as there are many questions which need to be answered in order to reach to an conclusion. The conclusion of the argument relies on lot of assumptions and there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak and unconvincing without answers to questions like, how drastic was the viewership drop as compared to last year? What the does author mean by fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies? Does viewership depend on ratings?

Firstly, the question which is most crucial to this argument is what does author mean by fewer? He mentioned that "fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year", but fewer may have multiple definition. There may be a case where the number of viewership decreased by 2 - 3 number of people as compared to past years than the argument fails. So, in order to access the situation and come to a conclusion we must be aware of the exact number or clear definition of the stated "fewer" in the argument.

Secondly, the author has assumed that people follow movie review and the viewership directly depends on it. But is there a direct correlation between movie review and the viewership? Has there been any survey or analysis conducted on this? Without clear answer to these questions, the conclusion will be flawed as the company may lose a lot of money on advertisement without any increase in viewership if there is no correlation between these two.

Thirdly, the author has mentioned that "the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. But there is an important question which need to be answered to connect this to the conclusion of the argument, Which were these specific Super Screen movies? Was the viewership of these movies with good reviews also lower? What is the ratio of these movies to all movies produced by Super Screen movies last year? The answer to these questions will give us crucial information to evaluate the indirect impact of reviews and viewership. Also, these answers will give us information on number of movies with good reviews compared to others and this will help us in making a conscious decision to reach the stated conclusion. As, there may be a situation that the viewership of the movies with good ratings was already higher or such movies were very less compared to movies with average/bad reviews than the conclusion drawn from these argument will be flawed.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed due to lack of answer to the above mentioned questions and therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author provide answers to these questions.