The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer

people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the

percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies

actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not

reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of

our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the

public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the

recommendation

The argument that the advertising director (AD) of the Super Screen Movie Production Company (SSMPC) makes is not completely sound. For starters, the first fact that the AD mentions is that the last year had the lowest recorded attendance by viewers to date.

In this argument, however, one must be careful for any confounding variables that may affect this statistic. For example, was the last year a bad economic year? Did people want to attend SSMPC screenings but simply could not afford to? In order to investigate this fact, an investigation onto the statistics of other similar companies would have to be looked at; if all similar companies suffered a hit with attendance, the past year may be better explained to another variable.

The AD continues on to make the recomendation that, based on the fact that last year's positive reviews increased, the SSMPC should allocated a greater budget towards advertising next year in order to reach more people. This is extremely unreasonable however, as again, there may be other "hidden" variables in the background which better explain last year's trend (i.e., low attendance but better overall reviews). One such plausible example may be the fact that SSMPC has a new competitor. Online streaming services (e.g., Netflix, Disney +) are a growing competitor in the movie industry and some consumers are merely making the digital transition. In this instance, the ratings may have went up because the people who continued to use the Super Screen service have a biased preference for live big screen movies, and thus the reviews may also be biased to the SSMPC's favour. In other words, perhaps other competitors have stripped away fans who were previously not very content with Super Screen services, and removing them also removed their ability to vote on new content.

In such a scenario, spending more money on advertisment (and assuming that people are unaware about Super Screen services is a very risky proposition. Furthermore, something especially concerning is the way the AD framed this proposition, using the word "clearly" and insinuating that this method would be fool-proof in attracting more customers. This could lead to a very rough follow-up year.

Instead, I propose a more reasonable proposition: instead of allocating a higher budget towards advertising, the SSMPC should aim to further cultivate the loyal fanbase they already have by figuring out a way to maximize their earnings from them. For example, slightly increasing prices based on a mathematical model which maximized viewer retention and profits. Or, another example would be to create an incentive program that rewards viewers for referring friends who join their service.

In conclusion, the argument and the recomendation that the AD makes are very short-sighted. Numerous confounding variables which are not taken into account may be lurking in the background and the SSMPC would do well to re-evaluate the findings that they obtained from last year by trying to get additional data (e.g., economic trend, compeititor statistics, etc.)