The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. “Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time

devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The present argument seems coherent and plausible at first glance; however, further inspection would dictate that the business manager is making inferences off of inconclusive data.

For starters, the manager talks about the tangible complaints that he has received-- what he fails to mention or analyze is the target audience which likes the incorporation of national news with less attention to weather. People are only prone to call and voice their complaints, it is much more of a rarer occurence that a viewer will phone in to simply tell the business manager he is pleased with the change.

This also brings us into the operationlization of what the manager deems as success. If it is viewer count, he must ask himself what is the timeline that he is judging his station's preformance by. Is one year enough to conclude that TV station has failed to build a broader audience?

The same may also be said with advertising revenues; that is, could reverting from national to local news restrict the possibility of building bigger advertising contracts from businesses that prefer a national audience? Would this prove to produce a more lucrative advertising revenue in the long run? Indirectly, if he reverts back to restricting the late-night news program to only local news, he may be hindering the potential to make additional revenue.

In line with the advertising revenues, the business manager also makes the claim that local businesses are cancelling their advertising contracts because of the increased time to