“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they

enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

Although not strongly, I disagree with the statement. Instead, I propose that students should only be required to study the same national curriculum until they enter high school, as it is currently.

Although the teaching of a set foundation that is oulined as a national level by buearocrats could help students achieve highly relevant skills in today's society, the same may also be afforded with flexibility. That is, as long as a core component to the material is achieved (i.e., math, science, biology, a secondary language, etc.), the learning potential and outcome of a flexible program can still be highly effecient.

An example is already provided by the state of which things are currently ran today. Students in high school are currently allowed to choose electives with increased flexibility as they inch closer towards graduation. This curriculum does not fail them in this respect as society is still able to produce highly esteemed scientists, economists, politicians, and leaders in the community.

A nationally mandated curriculum which removes the possibility of electives would prevent students from figuring out where their passions and interests lie. The transition from secondary school to post-secondary is an already daunting and challenging feat, and restricting our youth to a single, uni-dimensional program would make this even more agonizing. To further proove this point, the most common complaint that students in this transitionary period have is a lack of knowing what they want to pursue next. Stripping away electives would further complicate the matter.

Additionally, this education mandate may also have the possible interpretation of having one's freedom revoked. Considering the rebellious nature of adolescents, this may have further implications by way of having them develop a pronounced aversive reaction to attending school.

In sum, the idea that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until college is one that carries a fair share of flaws. Instead, educators and policy makers should aim to leave the current curriculum as is.