The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry,

or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I would strongly agree with this statement, however, I do not beleive that instilling the sense of cooperation would ready the youth for absolutely every field that they will encounter.

Although the statement exained is analog to a collectivist mindset whereby the whole is greater than the sum of the parts which harbours an inclusive perspective, sometimes, certain fields better thrive off of competition rather than cooperation. This may be akin to a culture having an individualist mindset, which would breed compeition, and thus bring out the best in all of the competing parties involved.

For example, when it comes to technology, it is better to have compeition between different coorperations. Competition breeds success and it also accelerates by which barriers are constantly sought after to be exceeded. If we look at the evolution of the smartphone over the last 20 years, we can see how rapidly compeition has morphed the old Nokia brick phones into the modern mini-computers that is an iPhone. In such instances, the youths of today who will be the future CEO of tomorrow would benefit from being challenged from a state of competition as well. The same can be said for sports and training for the olympics--our future olympians need to be able to handle the pressure of competing against opponents.

It is important to note, however the evidence presented does not mean to discourage or disparage the intention and the plausibility of the statment. Instead, the evidence brought forth is done in an effort to be hyper critical of a philosophy that tries to be applied in an all encompassing method; in certain instances, however, instilling a sense of cooperation, instead of competition, would be extremely advantageous. For example, when related to politics and political positions in government (e.g., leader of a party), a focus on cooperation (and consequently the laws/regulations/bills that come from it) is the benchmark for a healthy and proposerous nation due to the respect that would indirectly holds for each and every citizen.

In summary, although the statement under examination cannot be used in all ways, it is a well intentioned and otherwise intelligent method to adopt in situation specific fields. Cooperation is ideal when compeiting teams are striving towards a goal and this sort of competition is a healthy catalyst that promotes success.