The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry,

or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The leadership characteristics and roles played by the leaders are not completely similar in all fields. Since leading requires both cooperation with the fellow people and competion with the rival leaders and the extent of these two requirements are different in various fields, one cannot summarily negate the importance of the sense of competition for prioritizing the sense of cooperation in nurturing young people for leadership. Both aspects should be kept in mind while preparing the youth for leadership while giving importance to specific requirements for leadership in a particular field.

The statement claimed in the previous paragraph can be exemplified by the discussion of the requirements of leadership in two fields of government and industry. While givernment mostly needs leaders with the high sense of cooperation, leading an industry requires a strong sense of competition. Running a government warrants keeping the various groups with conflict of interests satisfied so that they may contribute in the development of the country and refrain from works detrimental to the perceived national interests of the society and the nation. To achieve this goal, cooperation with diverse parties, groups and people is a must. However, industry leadership has the primary objective to run their industry in such a way that it thrives in the competitive market and continue to grow, perhaps often at the expense of the market rivals. Hence, intense sense of competition is an essential characteristics of the successful industry leaders, because failure to be competitve may lead to obsoleteness like Nokia to the cellphone rivals- Apple and Samsung.

Although, the two examples of government and industry clarify the initial statement, there are exception in both cases. For example, governments engage in rivalry with other governments. They may embroiled in civil wars in their own countries. These cases require competitve leaders. On the other hand, leading a strong and economically healthy company needs a vibrant management team who must be cooperative to keep the employees satisfied.

Therefore, it is evident that both the sense of cooperation and competition are integral parts of leadership for all fields. Although different fields require different modes of exercising leadership characteristics, preparing the youth of a scoiety for the future leadership position can be accomplished successfully by instilling both of the sense with informing their relative importance in different fields.