Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has changed the way human beings experience the world around them and proponents of technological advancement have credit technology with making this experience more favourable than that of our ancestors. However, there are many aspects of transitions brought into our lives by technology which have made our ways of lives more complicated and negated the perceived benefits, in reality.

Any strong proponents of technology in our day-to-day lives, will put forward the strongest logic in favour of technology that it has made many works faster and less time-consuming than that of pre-technology era. At first, one might be convinced with this argument and confounded to contend it. However, a critical and sharp observer of our technology driven daily lives will assert that the time saved by technology has actually been devoured by itself through various forms of distractions.

For example, one might open YouTube to watch some videos to learn a subject faster. However, he or she will get distracted by other entertainment videos also available in the same platform and might get ended with wasting hours there without learning a single new topic.

Similar arguments can also strongly question the increased connectivity achieved through the uses of technology. An irony of this type of virtual technologies like the use of social media is that one might be wary of someone thousands mile away, yet totally oblivious of near and dear ones present nearby. In various social researches, it has been found that human beings have become less social and less communicating towards fellow humans with the increased use of connectivity technologies like social media.

Technology and its uses may have brought into many positive changes in our lives but related debilitating effects on human actions and interactions have made human lives more complicated than that of earlier generations of human species on this earth.