The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news

and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints

received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news.

In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the

program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time

devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

From the memorandum of the manager, it is not clear what are the specifics of the complaints of the viewers regarding the coverage of weather and local news. Are these complaints related to the particular program i.e., the late-night news? Perhaps, the complaints are concerning the overall coverage by the TV station throughout the day. In that case, restoring the weather and local news level to the former level will not help the TV station to attract additional viewers.

Although the complaints regarding weather and local news have been grouped together, they may have many differing or even conflicting issues. For example, if there is not any emergency weather situation, there may not be any demand for the extended coverage of weather. Perhaps, the TV station did not cover the previous weather emergencies adequately and that is the cause of the viewers' complaints regarding the weather news. If that is the issue, mere restoration of previous level of weather news cannot attract additional viewers. Similar can be said about the local news.

Moreover, the manager failed to find out and mention the reasons of the withdrawal of the advertisement by the local businesses. Was it the decreased level of local and weather news that motivated the local businesses to cancel their advertising contracts with the TV station? Or, was it the overall quality of the late-night news program that fail to attract sufficient viewers, and hence, the local businesses also lost interst to sponsor the program? There may be additional issues of conflict of business interests with the contents of the late-night news program.

Additionally, the late-night news program may lose its viewers because people may use another sources, for example online news portals and communication websites to read or watch the news during the time of air of the program. As a result, the advertisers have diverted their attention to those sources to spend their adversting budget more effectively.

Considering all these issues, stating only the complaints of the viewers and the cancellation of the advertising contracts are not sufficient evidence for the restoratioon of the former level of weather and local news during the late-night news program. Rather, extensive survey, interviews and consultations with the stakeholders i.e., the viewers and the advertising businesses, are necessary to find out the causes of viewers' complaints and the decrease of advertising revenues and therefore, develop the startegy to attract more viewers and increase the advertising revenues.