The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer

people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the

percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies

actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not

reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of

our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the

public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the

recommendation.

The memo concludes that the attendees of the movies of the mentioned movie company decreased in the past year. According to the memo, the reason for this decrease is lack of awareness among the public about movie quality, not the quality of the movies themselves. Finally, a recommendation is proposed to allocate a greater share of budget for the advertisement of the movies.

Behind the conclusion and the argument presented in the memo, there are certain unanswered questions which weaken the given recommendation. For example, it is claimed that percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers increased in the past year. However, percentage does not provide the absolute number of the positive reviewers. How many more reviews were received than the previous years? Perhaps, number of viewers decrease because of disappointment from the movie qualities of the past years but a larger percentage of viewers from the last year gave positive reviews. Besides, what were the number of negative reviews in the years before the previous year and how scathing were the negative reviews of the past year? A greater percentage of somewhat positive reviews can get negated by a small number of highly critical negative reviews.

Since the sense of disappointment about the movie qualities of the years before the last year may lead to the decrese of viewers in the past year, only the larger share of the advertising budget cannot ensure the return of the viewers to the movies produced by the company. Hence, people's views on the qualities of the previous productions of the company must be investigated. How did the viewers of the previous movies receive them? What were their reviews? Did they suggest the movies of the companies to their acquainted ones? Answer to all these questions assist in understanding the overall viewer reception of the movies.

Moreover, the claim of the lack of awareness among the public about the movie review is not supported by any evidence in the memo. Did the public actually not receive or read the positive reviews? Perhaps, they read both positive and negative reviews and took negative reviews seriously instead of accepting the positive reviews.

Since there is no information regarding the overall budget of the company, an increase in the adverstising share may lead to decrease of fund for other fields like those associated with ensuring movie quality. As a result, instead of increase of viewers, the decision may lead to further decrease of the viewers. Without answering the questions presented in this discussion, only the recommendation cannot ensure the revival of the number of attendees for the movies of the mentioned company.