Luck plays more of a role in determining success than work ethic does.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples

that could be used to both support and challenge your position.

There is a saying "No Pain, No Gain " and this statement is an universal truth in every field. In real life the road to success is a bed of thrones, so one cannot reach it by mere luck. One has to give his full dedication, hard work and follow work ethics to reach his goal.

Firstly, if only luck would have been only criteria for success than people would not worked so hard to achieve what they wanted, it would have happened by mere luck. One should never bias his/her thoughts by seeing one person success which mighit happen by mere chance, but if we see overall no one can become a successful person by only luck and without any work ethics and hard work. There may be a case that a student can get lucky and by chance he scores 325 or lets say 330 in GRE exam, but that alone will never help him reaching his real goal, if he has not worked hard or have not followed work ethics than he would never be able to get a seat in a one of the best Grad School. So, it is preety obvious that someone might get lucky by chance in life but that will not help him in long run or to culminate his ultimate goal.

Secondly, if one does not follow work ethics and depend on luck alone, then he will be left dishearted in longer run. If luck would have been the primary reason for one's success than the world would not be such a place, no one would have ever worked hard to discover new things which made our life easier. Our leaders, global CEOs, great scientist, great writers/painters have been able to reach their esteem position only by working hard and following proper work ethics. There is also a saying that " Luck only favours the Brave", which meanse that luck will never favour a person who does not take the pain to do his part of hard work and try reaching his goal.

Now, some may argue that even after hard work luck is very crucial for sucess of an individual or a company. They may argue that in real world two company may be producing the same thing but one is more popular or successful by luck. But, its not the case we have to understand the underlying complexities of becoming successful. There are many small things involved such as marketing, innovation at the right time, targetting the correct customer for making a product successful. If we take the example of "Essential Phone" which was recently launched with great specs but it failed, one should never blame the same on mere luck. There were may important things which the company missed such as customer service or proper marketing which lead to the failure of the product and not luck.

In conclusion, although one may always argue that Luck plays more of a role in determining success than work ethic does, but as long as one never tries or give his cent percent by following proper work ethics, he will be never culminate his goal in a longer run. One may be a king of one day by mere luck, but not a great leader without work ethics and hard work.