A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The argument claims that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. Stated in this way the argument manipulates facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumption that the study done on both the sample was enough and not biased or the sample size was enough to reach a conclusion from the study.Also, the authenticity of such study is in doubt as there it is not mentioned who was the authority who conducted this study and what was the error percentage for the study. hence, the argument is weak / unconvincing and has several flaws.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that the samples used for the study was unbiased and the error margin of the study was low. But arriving at the conclusion from this assumption is a stretched as there may be a case that the sample for both the region was biased or it was too small to correctly depicts the whole population. In such a case there is a serious doubt on the result of the study. Also, as there is no mention of the error percentage for the study, so assuming that the study was conducted with a very low error percentage is again a issue. In a situation where the error percentage is very high for such a study, arriving at a conclusion from it will again be erroneous.Also, the argument fails to mention the authority or agency who conducted the stated study, thus without this information it won't be possible to authenticate the correctness of the study.The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated all these information and provided substantial evidence to arrive at the stated conclusion.

Secondly, the argument fails to take in consideration the eating habits of both the region. Various studies had suggested that the main reason for tooth decay does not depend only on proper care of the teeth but also on the food being consumed. There may be a case that the children of suburban areas in the United States consume lots of junk and artificial sugary food while children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal mostly consume more natural foods and foods less in sugar. In such a situation again the argument fails as it does not provide any evidence for this.

Lastly, one important point was missed or wrongly assumed that the genetic or calcium content in the both of children is same for both the region. Studies have proved in past that people with high or balanced calcium content in body undergoes lesser tooth decay than people with substantially less calcium in body. So may be higher concentration of calcium in children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal may be a reason for their lesser tooth decay as compared to children of suburban areas in the United States.

In conclusion the argument is flawed due to absence of many crucial evidence which are required to correctly examine the argument and arrive at a conclusion. In order to asses the merit of the situation, it is essential to have full knowledge of all other contributing factors. In this case the above stated evidence which we help us to correctly examine the argument. Without all these additional information, the argument remains questionable and open to debate.