The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree
with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.
In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in
which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and
explain how these examples shape your position.
The discussion here is that should we praise someone for his positive or good deeds and ignore or not talk about his/her negative actions . But this can lead to a very serious
situation where ones lack track of the wrong deeds he has commited as it's ignored by everyone and thereby giving rise to a criminal or sometime even a terrorist.
So it should be an important responsibility of everyone ( teacher/parents/society/friends) to confront one when he has done something wrong and make him aware of the
consiquences of his act or to the dire situation that could have happened due to his action.
The biggest flaw in this kind of teaching where someone is praised for his postive actions but his negative actions or wrong deeds are ignored is that it gives a person
false sense of license to commit or do as many negative or wrong deeds which can than lead to a behavioral problem and theryby causing dire situations for society.
If a child who is topper in his class is always praised by his teachers and parents for his great performance in study and but he started stealing pens from
other students bags and even when his parents come to know about this they ignore it as he is very good in studies, but this ignorance can lead him to cultivate this habit
of stealing things from his friends bag and in future he may steal money or some other valuable things from not only class but home. So, as observed in the above
example ignoring ones negative actions can lead to serious problems.
We have also observed from the society that kids of politicians or celebrities taking wrong paths and indulging in drugs or other criminal activities as their parents
never took heed of their smaller wrong deeds and ignored them which led them to deviate to wrong paths. Sanjay Dutt, one of the great filmstar of India and a son of
politician late Sunil Dutt, started indulging in drugs and other activities ones he hit his teen, his parents even after knowing this never refuted him for his wrong
actions/habits and always kept him praising for his success in his films. But in later years it came to lights that due to this ignorance led him to
get involved in terrorist activities and was a counterpart of peoples involved in 1993 bomb blasts in Mumbai which caused death of more than 200 peoples,
later on he was also sent to jail for 5 years for this act. So from this example we observed that if his parents would have not ignored his previous small wrong actions than
such bigger negative actions could have been prevented.
Some people may argue that for smaller children it's much more important to praise him/her for his positive actions and his smaller mistakes/negative actions can be ignored.
But its very important for one to understand the results of his mistakes/wrong deeds, even if its a very small so in future he would atleast try to not indulge in such
negative actions/deeds.
So, from all the above points we observe that for greater good of one it is very important to not only praise one for his positive actions but also talk or discuss with one
and make him understand what may be the consiquences of his negative actions.