Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic raises the controversial issue that Government should make sure their major cities receives financial support they need in order to thrive. Indisputably, I agree to some extent that, yes big cities should receive financial support in order to thrive but this should not come at an expense of lower financial support for smallar cities or towns. Nevertheless, government should not only look at the size of the city or opulation while making allocation of funds rather they should work on the plan to spend public money judiciously in order to uplift the country as a wholesome.

First of all if government only considers major cities while allocation of public money then it would led to growth of only couple f big cities in the country which would lead to crowded cities, over population, hapazard construction and this all will lead to other issues like traffic and pollution. To illustrate this let us look at the example of the silicon valley of India, Bangalore where due to the above reasons had become almost an unlivable city as due to allocation of hige funds and development in the cities, the city had become overcrowded, pulluted and traffic issues as most IT people have migrated here.Similar situation is also observed in other major cities of India like Mumbai. Thus government should never consider onlybigger cities while allocation of funds.

Secondly the money that government is going to spend or allocate is taxpayer's money from all cities and states of a country along with money generated from natural resources. So if government go ahead and allocate majority of the fund to big cities of particular states then it would lead to militant activity and generate antinational attitute among states or cities which receives lesser funds. To illustrate this further I would again take the example of a region in India, "North-East" India where due to low allocation of government funds leading to underdevelopment of these states, specially in 1990's and this led to the formation of one of the largest militant group of world known as ULFA, whose main motive was to create an separate country as government of India was not allocating sufficient funds to these states even though government was able to generate a huge amount of money from these states due to abundancy of mineral resources like oil, gas and uranium and also North East region contributed to more then 50% of tea grown all over world and majority of these was exported to other countries. Thus looking into these senerios I would like to reamphasize that government should consider all cities/states of country while providing financial support/funds.

Thirdly as major cities would already have sufficient funding for development for the city due to commercial taxes being generated from bigger companies and funds doneted under CSR activity by various MNC, so smaller cities are in more need of government funding for proper development and upliftment.

In conclusion, although to some extent bigger cities need larger funds for faster growth of these cities which will in a way lead to attract more MNC to these cities and foreign investment. As long as a government main emphasis is to uplift country as an wholesome and not few cities, governement should not only consider size of the city as only criteria to allocate funds but also look into other various factors.